- Hunting Island State Park is OPEN.
- St. Phillips Island Tours are running from Hunting Island. Click here for details or to book your tour.
- A portion of the pier is open, however, no fishing or crabbing is allowed at this time.
6 a.m. - 6 p.m., daily (extended to 9 p.m. during Daylight Saving Time)
9 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. Sa-Su
$8/adult; $5/SC seniors; $4/ child age 6-15; Free for children 5 and younger
Lighthouse admission: $2/person
Pets are not allowed in the cabin or the cabin area, on the pier or inside the lighthouse complex. Dogs are not permitted on the tip of North Beach past the posted markers to protect critical shorebird habitat. Pets are allowed in most other outdoor areas provided they are kept under physical restraint or on a leash not longer than six feet. Owners will be asked to remove noisy or dangerous pets or pets that threaten or harass wildlife.
The historic lighthouse at Hunting Island State Park is the only publicly accessible lighthouse in South Carolina.
For an admission of $2, visitors can climb the 167 steps and walk around the observation deck for a lofty view of the barrier island and surrounding seascape. CHILDREN MUST BE AT LEAST 44" TALL TO CLIMB THE LIGHTHOUSE. Only six visitors may enter the lighthouse at one time, with staggered entrance, to provide a more unique visitor experience and to assist in preserving this historic structure.
We are happy to announce that the Hunting Island lighthouse will reopen on Monday, June 15 with new reservation procedures and limits put into place for social distancing. Please read ALL details:
The lighthouse is closed on Christmas Day for climbing. Visitors may find the lighthouse closed during inclement weather due to safety concerns.
The lighthouse was closed for repairs in May 2003 when cracks were discovered in several of its cast-iron steps. In a renovation that spanned more than 18 months, construction crews not only repaired the cracks, but installed steel braces beneath them for reinforcement. Left unpainted, the silver-gray braces stand out in sharp contrast to the black cast-iron stairs. The contrast helps distinguish between the original structure and modern improvements, which protect the lighthouse’s historic integrity.
The original structure was built in 1859 and rebuilt in 1875 after it was destroyed during the Civil War. A unique feature of the lighthouse is that it was constructed of interchangeable cast-iron sections so it could be dismantled should it ever need to be moved. Severe beach erosion made it necessary to relocate the lighthouse 1.3 miles inland in 1889.