2024 Recognition Awards

Every year at our Parks Leadership Conference, Ranger in Service, and Interpreters Conference, staff gather to share information and brainstorm new ideas. It is also a time that staff are recognized for their years of service and recognize those who go above and beyond in their field. We are happy to announce this year's awards recipients. 

Ranger of the Year

Lakes Region

Zach Gross, Landsford Canal State Park

Lower Coast Region

Quentin Knorr – Aiken State Park (Previously at Hunting Island)

Upper Coast Region

Rick Highers, Cheraw State Park

Mountain Region

Brenden Franklin, Keowee-Toxaway State Park

Sandhills Region

Ashley Audette, Barnwell State Park

Interpreter of the Year

Cathy Taylor, Paris Mountain State Park

Directors Awards

Kenneth Reed, Retail Sales Manager

Michael Trotter, Table Rock State Park

Customer Service Awards

Lakes Region

Russ Zahler, Lake Wateree State Park

Teresa Shivers, Hamilton Branch State Park

Lower Coast Region

Wyatt Shealy, Lake Warren State Park

Carroll Carter, Edisto Beach State Park

Upper Coast Region

Chris Flowers, Cheraw State Park

Ginger Larew, Myrtle Beach State Park

Mountain Region

Holden McGill, Kings Mountain State Park

Madison Trump, Paris Mountain State Park

Sandhills Region 

Andrew McCune, Poinsett State Park

Faith Stone, Aiken State Park

Central Office

Amanda Drake, Parks Budget and Merchandising

Robert J. Papenfus Award

The Robert J. Papenfus Award is awarded to the park, person, or team who has demonstrated excellence in the Management of Natural and Cultural Resources. 

Kelly Howell, Aiken State Park

Service Recognition

 Five Years

Nate Johnson, Landsford Canal
Johnathan Kent, Associate Project Manager
Zachary Gross, Landsford Canal
Nicholas Leitner, Central Maintenance 
Robert Taylor, Charles Towne Landing
Kelly Howell, Aiken
Amanda Drake, Central Office
Billy Burk, Sandhills Regional Maintenance 
Mark Stanford, Musgrove Mill
Hannah Marley, Hampton Plantation
Kalen Simpson, Hickory Knob
Amanda Trout, Myrtle Beach
Richard Thompson, Charles Towne Landing
Rachel Kilduff, Paris Mountain
Laura Salzhauer, Croft 
Richard Swearingen, Sesquicentennial 
Alex Mariona, Oconee
Colby McCall, Mnt MNGM
Adrienne Bagwell, Edisto Beach

10 Years

Brandon Goff, Ramsey Grove
Randolph Boan, Cheraw
Brooks Garrett, Lake Hartwell
Sy Callais, Dreher Island
Milan Burton, Myrtle Beach

15 Years

Kaley Foley, Givhans Ferry
Aaron Chavous, Hamilton Branch
Noah Letter, Colonial Dorchester
Shawn Llewellyn, Paris Mountain
Kyle Bullock, Edisto Beach
Daniel Howington, Cheraw

20 Years

Malia Cooler, Hunting Island
John Wells, Sesquicentennial and Goodale
Zabo McCants, Hunting Island
Stacey Jensen. Sesquicentennial and Goodale

25 Years

Herbert Leitner, Construction Management
Fayette Yenny, Lake Greenwood
Terry Conway, Coastal Regional Program Coordinator
Jim Stanton, Mountain Regional Program Coordinator

30 Years

Robert Davis, Mountain Region Management 

35 Years

Dan Bell, Historic Resources Coordinator